MMZNYCC lifts EACA Division 2 T20 title

Played on October 15th 2018, Centurion won the toss and asked MMZNYCC to bat first. MMZNYCC were bowled out for a low total of 118 inside of 19.3 overs. From their first over MMZNYCC found themselves one down when the lost opener Imran Hassan for 1.

Opener Andy Mohamed counter attacked the Centurion bowlers with some classy shots to kept the score ticking but eventually fell for 20. In the span of 2 overs MMZNYCC lost 2 more wickets as Matt Lutchana and Keith Edie went without troubling the score at 32 for 4.

Former Guyana Youth Player Nicholas Chinkoo and Kelvin Shewprasad  tried to repair the damage and built a decent partnership before Chinkoo went for 13. Kelvin Shewprasad continued to bat brilliant for his 37 off 32 balls, which included 4 maximums. Imran Abdool was the only other batsman with a notable contribution of 14.

Kelvin Shewprasad

Kelvin Shewprasad

Shiv Raghubar was the pick of the bowlers with 3 for 18 from 3.3 overs. VJ Persaud, Andre Hooper and Carlos Baker picked up 2 wickets each for Centurion.

In reply to the modest total set by MMZNYCC, Centurion never really got going as the lost wickets at regular intervals. Number 11 batsman Marlon Mangru top scored with 23, which included 3 sixes and 1 four. VJ Persaud, Carlos Baker and Shiv Raghubar were the only other batsman to reach double figures with 16, 14 and 13 respectively as Centurion were bowled out for 98 in 192.2 overs.

Keith Edie and Andy Mohamed were the pick of the bowlers, they both grabbed 3 wickets for 19 runs in 4 overs spell.

MMZNYCC were crowned champions for EACA Division 2 T2o tournament.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s