Evin Lewis declines Windies central contract

Evin Lewis has declined a white-ball contract for the 2018-19 season, Cricket West Indies revealed on Monday (October 1) while confirming the list of central contract-awardees for the men’s and the women’s teams. Lewis has made rapid strides ever since he made his debut for Windies and earlier this year, he fetched a lucrative IPL contract with Mumbai Indians.

The left-hander, who has a T20I strike rate of 157.44, now joins a long list of top players from the region to have declined a CWI contract over the years. The likes of Chris Gayle, Andre Russell, Kieron Pollard, Dwayne Bravo and Sunil Narine have all gone down this route in the past and have skipped national duty in favour of taking part in T20 leagues around the globe. These global T20 stars continue to be absent from the centrally contracted list including Darren Bravo.

Test and ODI skipper Jason Holder, batsman Shai Hope and pacers Kemar Roach and Alzarri Joseph have been contracted for all formats while eight players were rewarded with a red-ball contract. Only three players have been given white-ball contracts – Carlos Brathwaite, Ashley Nurse and Rovman Powell.

Even though the previous contracts expired only on September 30, 2018, the new contracts have been backdated to July 1, 2018 and will run until June 30, 2019 in order to align all players to the same period. “All Windies and Franchise players are now contracted from the 1st of July to the 30th of June, with their performances assessed from the 1st of April to the 31st of March,” Chief Executive Officer, Johnny Grave said.

“This will allow for a more efficient process of reviewing, renewing and awarded contracts within West Indies professional cricket and give everyone at least three months to plan for the season ahead.”

All-format retainers: Jason Holder, Alzarri Joseph, Shai Hope and Kemar Roach

Red-ball retainers: Devendra Bishoo, Kraigg Brathwaite, Roston Chase, Miguel Cummins, Shane Dowrich, Shannon Gabriel, Shimron Hetmyer and Kieron Powell

White-ball retainers: Carlos Brathwaite, Ashley Nurse and Rovman Powell

Development retainers: Sunil Ambris, Keemo Paul and Raymon Reifer

Windies Women retainers: Merissa Aguilleira, Raniece Boyce, Shemaine Campbelle, Shamilia Connell, Deandra Dottin, Afy Fletcher, Hayley Matthews, Anisa Mohammed, Chedean Nation, Akeira Peters, Shakera Selman and Stafanie Taylor

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s