Surrey crowned County Champions after 16 years

Worcestershire vs Surrey, Worcester

Surrey won their 19th (one shared with Lancashire in 1950) County Championship title after beating Worcestershire by three wickets in Worcester, on Thursday (September 13). Rory Burns (66), the captain, and Mark Stoneman (59) compiled fifties as the Southeast County chased down the target of 272 runs.

Surrey, who began the day at 70 for 0, lost their opening wicket when Wayne Parnell dislodged Stoneman. Dillon Pennington followed it up by sending the first innings centurion, Burns, back to the pavilion. Josh Tongue, the promising quick, who has 36 wickets this season, then cleaned up Dean Elgar to leave the visitors in a spot of bother at 157 for 3.

At that stage, Ben Foakes (22) and Ollie Pope (49) steadied the innings with a timely stand of 53. Parnell dismissed Foakes, while Ed Barnard, the all-rounder, removed Will Jacks. Pope, too, had to walk back to the pavilion after he was cleaned up by Pennington. At the fall of Pope’s wicket, Surrey needed a further 32 runs to register a memorable triumph.

Tom Curran and Rikki Clarke (18*) shared an alliance of 20 to calm down the nerves in the camp before Pennington snuffed out the former. However, Morne Morkel and Clarke ensured that Surrey would cross the finishing line. Morkel scored the winning runs with a pull off Pennington.

Surrey, the prestigious English club that was established way back in August 1845, won their first Championship title since 2002 when the Adam Hollioake-led side lifted the trophy. Under Hollioake’s leadership, Surrey also won the Championship in 1999 and 2000. Surrey enjoyed their most successful phase in County cricket between 1952 to 1958 when under the leadership of Stuart Surridge (1952 to 1956) and Peter May (1957 and 1958) they won a record seven Championship titles in a row.

Surrey have played 12 matches with 239 points to their name, while the promising Worcestershire side sit at the bottom of the table with 96 points and look set to be relegated.

Brief Scores: Worcestershire 336 (Ross Whiteley 91; Tom Curran 4-61) & 203 (Thomas Charles Fell 89; Morne Morkel 5-24, Amar Virdi 3-73) lost to Surrey 268 (Rory Burns 122; Wayne Parnell 3-56) & 274/7 (Rory Burns 66; Dillon Pennington 3-41) by three wickets.

Yorkshire vs Lancashire, Leeds

Ben Coad finished with a five-wicket haul as Lancashire were bowled out for 134, conceding a 95-run win to Yorkshire. In their chase of 230 in the Battle of the Roses clash at Leeds, they needed 121 runs, with just three wickets in hand, at the beginning of the day. They, however, could only manage to add 25 runs on the final day, as Yorkshire picked up a comfortable win.

Yorkshire’s pole position was achieved by a mature batting performance in the second innings, particularly from Gary Ballance (85) and Tom Kohler-Cadmore (63), who added a very crucial 148-run stand after the hosts were reduced to 27 for 3 in their second innings. Jonathan Tattersall and Tim Bresnan added crucial twenties to push the total to 272, which set their rivals a rather difficult fourth-innings total of 230.

Skipper Liam Livingstone top-scored with 28, while the next-best was Keshav Maharaj’s 18 late down the order, which tells a sorry tale.

Brief scores: Yorkshire 209 (Tom Kohler-Cadmore 105; Graham Onions 4-76) & 272 (Gary Ballance 85, Tom Kohler-Cadmore 63; Tom Bailey 4-69, Keshav Maharaj 3-52) beat Lancashire 252 (Alex Davis 87; Jack Brooks 5-66) & 134 (Liam Livingstone 28; Ben Coad 5-24, Jack Brooks 4-47) by 95 runs.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s