FIFA Best Awards: Lionel Messi snubbed; Cristiano Ronaldo, Luka Modric and Mohamed Salah nominated

Lionel Messi has been overlooked in FIFA’s three-man shortlist for the Player of the Year award, with Cristiano Ronaldo, Luka Modric and Mohamed Salah getting the nod.

The Argentine is missing from the final three for the first time since 2006 despite firing Barcelona to a domestic double last season.

Ronaldo and Modric are rewarded for helping Real Madrid to a fourth Champions League title in five seasons, with the latter also scooping the Golden Ball after leading Croatia to a maiden World Cup final.

Liverpool’s Salah scored 32 goals to pip Harry Kane to the Premier League golden boot, while he also led Egypt to a first World Cup appearance since 1990 before a shoulder injury prevented him from hitting peak form in Russia.

Brazilian forward Marta (Orlando Pride) and Ada Hegerberg and Dzsenifer Marozsan (both Lyon) and are up for the women’s award.

Lyon enjoyed an unbeaten league season and clinched the Champions League with Hegerberg finishing as the tournament’s top scorer with a record 15 goals. Marta is chasing a sixth individual title.

The winners will be announced at a ceremony in London on September 24.

Zinedine Zidane will contest the Men’s Coach Award with fellow Frenchman Didier Deschamps and Croatia boss Zlatko Dalic.

Zidane oversaw Real Madrid’s Champions League success, although he stood down five days later, while Deschamps edged Dalic as France lifted the World Cup.

Thibaut Courtois, Kasper Schmeichel and Hugo Lloris will battle it out for the goalkeeper award after impressing in Russia with Belgium, Denmark and France respectively.


The Best FIFA Men’s Player

  • Luka Modric (Real Madrid, Croatia)
  • Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid/Juventus, Portugal)
  • Mohamed Salah (Liverpool, Egypt)

The Best FIFA Women’s Player

  • Ada Hegerberg (Lyon)
  • Dzsenifer Marozsan (Lyon, Germany)
  • Marta (Orlando Pride, Brazil)

The Best FIFA Men’s Coach

  • Zlatko Dalic (Croatia)
  • Didier Deschamps (France)
  • Zinedine Zidane (Real Madrid)

The Best FIFA Women’s Coach

  • Reynald Pedros (Lyon)
  • Asako Takakura (Japan)
  • Sarina Wiegman (Netherlands)

The Best FIFA Goalkeeper

  • Thibaut Courtois (Chelsea, Belgium)
  • Hugo Lloris (Tottenham, France)
  • Kasper Schmeichel (Leicester City, Denmark)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s