FIFA World Cup Squads: Group F

Group F


Coach: Joachim Low

Star player: Toni Kroos

World Cup best: Winners 2014 (West Germany were champions in 1954, 1974 and 1990)

How they got here: The reigning champions qualified in style, winning all 10 of their games, scoring 43 goals and conceding only four. Their golden generation is ageing but remains a force and has been enhanced by young blood.

Squad news: 

  • Goalkeepers: Manuel Neuer (FC Bayern Munich), Marc-André ter Stegen (FC Barcelona), Bernd Leno (Bayer 04 Leverkusen), Kevin Trapp (Paris Saint-Germain F.C.)
  • Defenders: Jerome Boateng (FC Bayern Munich), Matthias Ginter (Borussia Mönchengladbach), Mats Hummels (FC Bayern Munich), Antonio Rüdiger (Chelsea F.C.), Jonas Hector (1. FC Köln), Marvin Plattenhardt (Hertha BSC), Niklas Süle (FC Bayern Munich), Joshua Kimmich (FC Bayern Munich), Jonathan Tah (Bayer 04 Leverkusen)
  • Midfielders: Julian Brandt (Bayer 04 Leverkusen), Julian Draxler (Paris Saint-Germain F.C.), Leon Goretzka (FC Schalke 04), Ilkay Gündogan (Manchester City F.C.), Sami Khedira (Juventus F.C.), Toni Kroos (Real Madrid C.F.), Mesut Özil (Arsenal F.C.), Sebastian Rudy (FC Bayern Munich)
  • Forwards: Leroy Sané (Manchester City F.C.), Marco Reus (Borussia Dortmund), Thomas Müller (FC Bayern Munich), Mario Gomez (VfB Stuttgart), Nils Petersen (SC Freiburg), Timo Werner (RB Leipzig)


Coach: Juan Carlos Osorio

Star player: Javier Hernandez

World Cup best: Quarter-finals 1970, 1986

How they got here: Mexico are traditionally the strongest team in the CONCACAF region and again qualified comfortably. They have reached the second round at the last six tournaments without once going further.

Squad news: 

  • Goalkeepers: Jesus Corona (Cruz Azul), Alfredo Talavera (Toluca), Guillermo Ochoa (Standard Liège)
  • Defenders: Edson Alvarez (Club América), Oswaldo Alanis (Getafe), Nestor Araujo (Santos Laguna), Hugo Ayala (Tigres UANL), Jesus Gallardo (Pumas), Miguel Layun (FC Porto), Hector Moreno (Real Sociedad), Diego Reyes (FC Porto), Carlos Salcedo (Eintracht Frankfurt)
  • Midfielders: Jesus M. Corona (FC Porto), Jurgen Damm (Tigres UANL), Marco Fabian (Eintracht Frankfurt), Giovani Dos Santos (LA Galaxy), Jhonatan Dos Santos (LA Galaxy), Andres Guardado (Real Betis), Erick Gutierrez (C.F. Pachuca), Rafael Marquez (Club Atlas), Jesus Molina (C.F. Monterrey)
  • Forwards: Javier Aquino (Tigres UANL), Javier Hernandez (West Ham United F.C.), Raul Jimenez (S.L. Benfica), Hirving Lozano (PSV Eindhoven), Dribe Peralta (Club América), Carlos Vela (Los Angeles FC)


Coach: Janne Andersson

Star player: Andreas Granqvist

World Cup best: Runners-up 1958

How they got here: Sweden qualified for their first World Cup since 2006 with a play-off win over four-time champions Italy. They also finished above Holland in a tough qualifying group which was headed by France.

Squad news: 

  • Goalkeepers: Robin Olsen (FC Copenhagen), Karl-Johan Johnsson (Guingamp), Kristoffer Nordfeldt (Swansea City)
  • Defenders: Mikael Lustig (Celtic/), Victor Nilsson-Lindelof (Manchester United), Andreas Granqvist (Krasnodar), Martin Olsson (Swansea City), Ludwig Augustinsson (Werder Bremen), Filip Helander (Bologna), Pontus Jansson (Leeds United), Emil Krafth (Bologna)
  • Midfielders: Emil Forsberg (RB Leipzig), Albin Ekdal (Hamburg), Viktor Claesson (Krasnodar), Gustav Svensson (Seattle Sounders), Sebastian Larsson (Hull City), Jimmy Durmaz (Toulouse), Oscar Hiljemark (Genoa), Marcus Rohden (Crotone)
  • Forwards: Marcus Berg (Al Ain), Ola Toivonen (Toulouse), John Guidetti (Celta Vigo), Isaac Kiese-Thelin (Waasland-Beveren)

South Korea

Coach: Shin Tae-yong

Star player: Son Heung-min

World Cup best: Fourth place 2002

How they got here: South Korea qualified for their ninth consecutive World Cup finals despite an indifferent campaign. They have only won two matches since finishing fourth as co-hosts in 2002.

Squad news: 

  • Goalkeepers: Kim Seunggyu (Vissel Kobe), Kim Jinhyeon (Cerezo Osaka), Cho Hyeonwoo (Daegu FC)
  • Defenders: Kim Younggwon (Guangzhou Evergrande Taobao F.C.), Jang Hyunsoo (FC Tokyo), Jeong Seunghyeon (Sagan Tosu), Yun Yeongseon (Seongnam FC), Kwon Kyungwon (Tianjin Quanjian F.C.), Oh Bansuk (Jeju United FC), Kim Jinsu (Jeonbuk Hyundai), Kim Minwoo (Suwon Samsung Bluewings), Park Jooho (Ulsan Hyundai), Hong Chul (Suwon Samsung Bluewings), Go Yohan (FC Seoul), Lee Yong (Jeonbuk Hyundai Motors)
  • Midfielders: Ki Sungyueng (Swansea City A.F.C.), Jeong Wooyoung (FC Bayern München), Kwon Changhoon (Dijon), Ju Sejong (FC Seoul), Koo Jacheol (FC Augsburg), Lee Jaesung (Jeonbuk Hyundai Motors), Lee Seungwoo (Hellas Verona F.C.), Moon Sunmin (Incheon United), Lee Chungyong (Crystal Palace F.C.)
  • Forwards: Kim Shinwook (Jeonbuk Hyundai Motors), Son Heung-min (Tottenham Hotspur F.C.) , Hwang Hee-chan (FC Red Bull Salzburg), Lee Keun-ho (Gangwon FC)



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s