PCL draft completed as tournaments approach

On Wednesday morning, the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) completed the Professional Cricket League (PCL) 2018/2019 Draft in Antigua as the Region prepares to spring into action.

However, it was disclosed that the Regional 50-over competition will be staged prior to the Regional Four-Day tournament since the West Indians are preparing for the International Cricket Council (ICC) World Cup 2019.

Based on Cricket West Indies rules, each franchise must have 15 contracted players, and as such, the Guyana Jaguars franchise retained 10 players.

Defending champions of the Regional Four-Day tournament, Guyana Jaguars selected five cricketers during Wednesday’s draft. They are Ramaal Lewis, Christopher Barnwell, Tevin Imlach, Akshaya Persaud, and Javier Spencer.

Guyana Jaguars retained Veerasammy Permaul, Leon Johnson, Vishal Singh, Chandrapaul Hemraj, Gudakesh Motie, Tagenarine Chanderpaul, Keon Joseph, Anthony Bramble, Sherfane Rutherford, and Romario Shepherd.
Former West Indies U-19 players Guyanese Tevin Imlach and Antiguan Javier Spencer are the uncapped players in the squad while it is Ramaal Lewis’s second year with the Jaguars, even though he has not yet made his debut. Akshaya Persaud was gifted with the opportunity of making his debut last season.

Keemo Paul and Shimron Hetmyer were not retained because they both have an active West Indies contract. They are still eligible to play for Guyana once there are no conflicting Windies duties.

Meanwhile, Shivnarine Chanderpaul will accompany Guyana on a pay-per-play basis while Devendra Bishoo and Raymon Reifer are also in Guyana’s side.

The other squads:

Barbados Pride: Anthony Alleyne, Shamarh Brooks, Jonathan Carter, Dominic Drakes, Justin Greaves, Keon Harding, Chemar Holder, Shayne Moseley, Shamar Springer, Haydn Walsh Jr*
Draft picks – Marquino Mindley, Kevin Stoute, Aaron Jones, Tevyn Walcott, Mario Rampersaud

Leeward Islands Hurricanes – Rahkeem Cornwall, Montcin Hodge, Jahmar Hamilton, Keacy Carty, Jeremiah Louis, Devon Thomas, Terrance Warde, Sheeno Berridge, Akeem Saunders, Ross Powell
Draft Picks – Damion Jacobs*, Sheldon Cotterell*, Orlando Peters, Nelson Bolan, Jason Peters

Jamaica Scorpions: Nikita Miller, Assad Fudadin*, Derval Green, Chadwick Walton, John Campbell, Brandon King, Paul Palmer Jr, Aldaine Thomas, Andre McCarthy, Fabian Allen
Draft Picks – Oshane Thomas, Reynard Leveridge, Kenroy Williams*, Denis Bulli, Steven Taylor

Windward Islands Volcanoes: Devon Smith, Shane Shillingford, Kyle Mayers*, Obed McCoy, Tyron Theophile, Roland Cato, Audy Alexander, Shermon Lewis, Delorn Johnson, Alick Athanaze
Draft Picks – Kirk Edwards*, Ray Jordon, Tarryck Gabriel, Denis Smith, Josh Thomas

Trinidad and Tobago Red Force: Kyle Hope*, Tion Webster, Yannic Cariah, Amir Jangoo, Denesh Ramdin, Imran Khan, Daniel St Clair, Bryan Charles, Khary Pierre, Jason Mohammed
Draft Picks – Odean Smith*, Jeremy Solozano, Marlon Richards, Isaiah Rajah, Joshua Da Silva



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s