John crowned Independence 3-Stage Road Race champion

Jamal John stormed to the top of the podium on Sunday as the curtain came down on the three-stage cycle road race to commemorate the 52nd Independence Anniversary.

After two days and many miles of racing in rainy weather, the Team Coco standout, who finished in the top five of each stage, was rewarded with the winner’s trophy.

John won the first stage on Saturday from Ocean View to Mahaicony and back; placed fifth in the second stage around D’Urban Park, also on Saturday; then returned yesterday to finish third in the finale behind United We Stand Cycle Club mates Briton John and Deeraj Garbarran.

The third leg was a 20-lap race around the outer circuit of the National Park.

Curtis Dey and Paul DeNobrega, John’s breakaway mates in the first stage, placed second and third overall for the event, which was organized by the United We Stand Cycle Club.

17 year-old Ajay Gopilall, winner of the second stage, was fourth overall; while Alonzo Ambrose and skilled veteran Junior Niles completed the top six overall positions.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s