First Ballon d’Or nominees announced

The first Ballon d’Or nominees have been announced with Harry Kane, Philippe Coutinho and N’Golo Kante three of the players nominated from the Premier League.

France Football, who organise the event following the split from FIFA, are staggering the announcement and are releasing the names in batches of five.

Kante is the first Premier League nomination after he helped Chelsea to win the Premier League.

Unsurprisingly Brazil superstar Neymar is also nominated following a stellar start to his PSG career.

Real Madrid duo Marcelo and Luka Modric are also both nominated along with Juventus’ Paulo Dybala.

In the second list of five Liverpool forward Philippe Coutinho doubled the Premier League’s representation.

Dries Mertens’ remarkable form for Napoli sees him named as well as Atletico Madrid’s Jan Oblak.

Spain’s big two also have one more player each with Luis Suarez and Sergio Ramos picked.

In the third set the Premier League had three representatives with Tottenham Hotspur’s Harry Kane, Manchester City’s Kevin De Bruyne and Manchester United’s David De Gea.

Robert Lewandowski and Edin Dzeko were also nominated.

Ballon d’Or Nominee list

Neymar (PSG/Brazil), Luka Modric (Real Madrid/Croatia), Paulo Dybala (Juventus/Argentina), Marcelo (Real Madrid/Brazil), N’Golo Kante (Chelsea/France), Luis Suarez (Barcelona/Uruguay), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid/Spain), Jan Oblak (Atletico Madrid/Slovenia), Philippe Coutinho (Liverpool/Brazil), Dries Mertens (Napoli/Belgium), Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City/Belgium), Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich/Poland), David De Gea (Manchester United/Spain), Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur/England), Edin Dzeko (Roma/Bosnia & Herzegovina), Sadio Mane (Liverpool/Sengal), Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid/France), Toni Kroos (Real Madrid/Germany), Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus/Italy) and Radamel Falcao (Monaco/Colombia), Lionel Messi (Barcelona/Argentina), Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Borussia Dortmund/Germany), Edinson Cavani (PSG/Uruguay), Mats Hummels (Bayern Munich/Germany), Karim Benzema (Real Madrid/France), Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid/Portugal), Eden Hazard (Chelsea/Belgium), Leonardo Bonucci (AC Milan/Italy), Isco (Real Madrid,Spain), Kylian Mbappe (PSG/France).


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s