Meten Meer Zorg are West Demerara 40 Overs Champion

West Demerara Cricket Association 40 Overs Tournament Final

Joe Viera Park – On a hot and sunny day the finals of the West Demerara Cricket Association 40 overs tournament concluded in a nail biting fashion as Meten Meer Zorg won by 4 runs and are crowned champions.

Meten Meer Zorg took strike first and were bowled out for 174 in 37.2 overs. E. Christnauth batted at number 9 top scored with 40 from 44 deliveries. Meten Meer Zorg lost opener travis Mohammed for duck off the second delivery in the second over with the score at 0.  National U-19 player Looknauth Chinkoo chiped in with 15. Opener Jermain Maxwell played a watchful 24. Other contributions from the bat came from J. Gomes and M. Nankishore who both score 24, A. Sookdeo was the only other batsman to get into double figure with 14.

A. Barrath was the pick of the bowlers who picked up 3 for 31 from his 8 overs. He was supported by T. Narine (2-20), J. Erosalo (1-5), E. Samuels (1-7), M. Dhanpaul (1-26) and K. Shivgobin (1-30).

In reply Independence got off to a decent start with former Demerara U-19 player Kishan Shivgobin leading the way with 63 and A. Barrath 19. Only J. Paton (30) and T. Narine (10) were the other batsman to reached double figures. Extras accounted for 28 of score made. Independence were eventually bowled out in 38.3 over for 170, just 4 runs shy of the target.

National U-19 player Looknauth was the chief destroyer with figures of 4-28 and got support from N. Chattergoon (3-35), A. Sookdeo (2-28) and M. Nankishore (1-40).

Skipper Looknauth Chinkoo was named Man of the Match for his bowling effort picking up 4 wickets for 24 from his 8 overs spell.


Man of the Match: Skipper Looknauth Chinkoo of Meten Meer Zorg receives his award.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s